Snapchat’s newest feature, ‘Snap Map’ could be seen as an attempt to get people to meet face to face. The location-based map allows users to zoom into a map and pinpoint other snapchatters exact locations in real time.
Once updated to the latest version of Snapchat, users will be asked if they want to share their location on the map. Children may see this as a ‘really cool’ feature but it does raise some real safety concerns.
There are three options available:
Ghost Mode/Only Me: means you are the only person that can see your location on the map. You can still see the location of other snapchatters that have not enabled Ghost Mode, but no one will see you. This prevents others knowing your location. We strongly advise this option is taken.
My Friends: means all your contacts on Snapchat can see your location. If this setting is enabled, then it is advisable to check through your contacts to ensure you would want those people to know you location. It would then be a good idea not to add someone you do not know or are unsure about in real life.
Select Friends: means that you can select which friends or contacts can see your location.
The option to stay in ‘Only me’ or ‘Ghost Mode’ will not share a user’s location, and we are strongly advising parents to ensure children are aware of the dangers of sharing locations and to enable Ghost Mode if children are using the app.
It is important to talk to children about keeping safe when online and not to share their location either through Snapchat or through any other digital or social media platform.
iPhones / iPads:
- Tap the snapchat or ghost icon on the app’s camera screen to access your profile
- Tap the gear/cog icon to enter settings in the upper-right corner of the screen.
- Scroll down to the ‘Who can….’ section and make sure See My Location is set to Only Me which will not share their location.
- Pinch the screen to access Maps
- Click the cog icon (top right)
- Tick the Ghost Mode box